Bookish Life

My Goodreads challenge…so far

hello! It’s July already which means we’re half way of our Goodreads challenges and I thought I would write a post to update you guys on mine.

Earlier this year I set a goal of 30 books to read in 2017. Last year was a frightful year and my reading did not escape that with 13 books read – yup you read just right thirteen books read in 2016. So to offset last year’s horrible reading I established my goal for 30 books but later on as my reading was increasing and I was ahead of schedule I changed for 45 which is my currently reading challenge for 2017 – to read 45 books!

These past weeks have been a complete mess with exams and applying to college and all that jazz so I’m 3 books behind which I believe can be fixed once all these worries go away in the next week or two.

Starting on New Year I read The Retribution of Mara Dyer (4,5 stars) which I read in one sitting wrapping that way The Mara Dyer series – the first series finished in 2017. Later one I also read the last two books on The Raven Cycle – bittersweet ’cause I did not want it to end – Blue Lily, Lily Blue & The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater and the last 2 books & ‘novella’ – Lux Series Extras – on The Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout – Origin and Opposition. On the mood, to finish series I also wrap on The Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, finally reading the last three books which were amazing – Beautiful Darkness Beautiful Chaos & Beautiful Redemption.
My favourite books so far were Cress by Marissa Meyer, Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare and The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. My least favourite book with a 1-star rating is A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab which you can check my review over on Goodreads here.
For the first time this year, I also re-read City of Bones by Cassandra Clare in order to re-live all the feels.

As for other books than fantasy, I only read one contemporary – Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe which I rated with 4 stars and recommend everyone to read it.
At the moment I’m reading Uprooted by Naomi Novik which everyone says it’s fantastic so I definitely have high expectations for this one ups

And here’s my little wrap up from January 1st until now and I would like to know which goals did you set for yourself and how is it going so far?

Inês xx

 

2 thoughts on “My Goodreads challenge…so far

Leave a comment